Labels


Okay, I’m going to weigh in on a topic that’s been interesting to me.  I see the graphic “Very Liberal” often among my friends on Facebook.  Now, I don’t have a problem with this, because I consider myself a “Moderate” and, to me, we *all* have points where we are liberal and points where we are conservative.  But, I’m not quite sure what to make of “Very Liberal.”  The most obvious topics where people would be “Very Liberal” would be legalization of drugs (although I don’t know a person who thinks they’d want their doctor, lawyer, bus driver, pilot or financial advisor on drugs, at least while on duty); sexual orientation (although, while supportive of their kids’ decision, I don’t know anyone who would actively encourage their kids to actually *be* gay); or maybe respect for all religions (although, again, I doubt there would be much support for religions which encourage decidedly un-liberal practices such as animal sacrifices, fgm, or forced conversion of non-believers).  As a label, I suspect that “Very Liberal” is about as useful as “Moderate” (or even “Conservative” or “Very Conservative”) since the topics we’re “Very Liberal” about still have limits.  As for me, I’ll stick with “Moderate” since it seems (to me at least) to be the most genuine.  Better yet, maybe we should encourage our Facebook friends to drop the labels altogether.  “A rose by any other name would smell as sweet,” says the bard.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags:

Leave a Reply

