Confessions of an iPhone Heretic

First of all, I absolutely LOVE my iPhone (My wife calls it the “other woman.”)  What a terrific platform and such an innovative network of applications.  The app store is amazing!  It’s kind of like visiting a bazaar or a swap meet with many programs available at very reasonable pricing.  My iPhone has quickly replaced my previous attempts at MP3 players (I took the journey from downloading podcasts onto CDRW to play in my car, to downloading the MP3s using Juice and copying to my previous smartphone, to now syncing my iPhone with iTunes.)  Given my love of all things iPhone, you might find the headline misleading or incorrect.   Far from it, there are definitely things that should be improved and which Apple has been lagging on.  I could take the path of “True Believers” and simply WAIT (and WAIT and WAIT) until Apple has a chance to fix them, or take matters into my own hands and take my own chances.  It is this second path that I chose, not because the iPhone is bad but because it has the potential to be so much better.  First, I used Jailbreaking software to unlock AND jailbreak my phone.  The reason is simply economic: T-Mobile offers me an unbeatable deal on my existing service (Sharing 1000 minutes b/n 4 phones + unlimited SMS + T-zones for $110/month).  AT&T could not offer anything close to that and because I’m “grandfathered” into this service, my rates are unlikely to change unless I switch to AT&T from T-mobile.  Also, because of some ‘hackery’ I’ve been able to get a nearly unlimited data plan for a mere $6.00 month (included in the $110 above) – About the only thing I can’t do over the EDGE network is stream YouTube (and there may be a hack for that.)  Jailbreaking has also opened up the possibility of non-App store applications (such as streaming Qik video and SSH access to my phone.)  I can even use VNC to remote desktop to my iPhone (great for Screen Captures and keyboard access) and surf the web throught the data cable when I’m at work (boatloads faster than EDGE).  Now, I did have a problem with my iPhone display but I simply restored the iPhone 2.1 firmware, brought it back to the Apple store and they gave me a replacement unit.  About the only thing I *haven’t* done yet is actually write an application for the iPhone.  Currently, the only (legitimate) choice is to purchase an x86 iMac, download the (Free) SDK and code it up (and of course go through the rigamorole of getting my app released in the App Store.)  However, there has been some movement to port Java and PHP to the iPhone (Jailbroken of course).  The only thing I *have* to have is my iPhone on the T-mobile network (unless AT&T would match the deal I have now), but barring that, I’ll remain a heretic.  Perhaps one day, “the Great Schism” can be repaired but exclusivity has forced me to follow the Protestant ways of my ancestors.  Sola gratia, Sola Fide, Sola Scriptura.

2 Responses to “Confessions of an iPhone Heretic”

  1. Confessions of an iPhone Heretic » iPhone Tricks Says:

    […] Fred’s Useless Bits of Information (FUBI) created an interesting post today on Confessions of an iPhone HereticHere’s a short outline … he MP3s using Juice and copying to my previous smartphone, to now syncing my iPhone with iTunes…. About the only thing I *haven’t* done yet is actually write an application for the iPhone…. It is this second path that I chose, not because the iPhone is bad but because it has the potential to be so much better…. My iPhone has quickly replaced my previous attempts at MP3 players (I took the journey from downloading podcasts onto CDRW to play in my car, to downloading t… […]

  2. Confessions of an iPhone Heretic Says:

    […] Goa Blog wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI can even use VNC to remote desktop to my iPhone (great for Screen Captures and keyboard access) and surf the web throught the data cable when I’m at work (boatloads faster than EDGE). Now, I did have a problem with my iPhone display … […]

Leave a Reply

