To jailbreak or not to jailbreak

The last time I jailbroke my 3GS, I used the blackra1n program to make it as simple as possible.  This worked for the most part, but I ran into a bug and I ended up reflashing the iPhone with the 3.1.3 firmware (which wasn’t supported for blackra1n at the time.)  I’m about ready to re-jailbreak in order to get MiWi/MiFi capability.  For $10.00 I’m not going to carp on price too much, even if I can’t use it again with a future release, but MiFi capability while on vacation would be a good thing and it might be great for business trips when WiFi is not readily available.  My brother talked about jailbreaking so he can use his iPad with his iPhone’s dataplan since he doesn’t have a 3G iPad.  I really wish carriers like AT & T would let us pay for only one data plan and share it as needed rather than having us pay multiple times for internet service.  There are a couple of other reasons to Jailbreak, some of which will go away when OS4 comes out this summer.  Looks like it’ll be a hot summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

